Get in-depth guidance

Get in-depth

That's relatable
and localized


Personalize your learning

Interact with
your guru

Communicate in real-time
directly with your guru


Find your tribe


Connect with
like-minded people


Frequently asked questions

No guts, no glory!

What makes this course different from other fermentation courses out there?

Great question! The hands-on, flexible application over a realistic timeframe is what sets this program apart. Not only will you receive tried-and-tested recipes, you will also have an expert on hand to troubleshoot any problems you run into while you experiment at home. If you are a first-time fermenter, any doubts or fears can easily be allayed with expert support. If you’ve fermented before, this is a great chance to expand your repertoire and deepen your knowledge of the world of fermented food!

Does this course accommodate a vegan or gluten-free diet?

All our recipes are gluten-free. With the exception of milk kefir, all recipes are also vegan.

Are these foods suitable for pregnant or breastfeeding women?

Yes, fermented foods that follow our guidelines are safe to eat while pregnant or breastfeeding in small amounts (1-2 servings a day). Kombucha is the only fermented food that might be controversial, although there are no large-scale studies on the effects of drinking kombucha during pregnancy. It may be best to avoid kombucha during pregnancy and breastfeeding because of its small alcohol content, caffeine content, and lack of pasteurization.

Can children consume fermented foods?

Yes, they can!

Do fermented foods have alcohol in them?

During the fermentation process, beneficial bacteria produce lactic acid, ethanol (a form of alcohol), and carbon dioxide. Fermented fruits and beverages (water kefir and ginger beer) are likely to contain alcohol, from 0.5% to 2%, and low sugar/starch ferments such as sauerkraut probably do not have nearly as much. Kombucha is an open ferment and thus has less alcohol content in it (>0.5%).